Bank of Michigan

Our Banking Team

About the President

Michael G. Sarafa is the President & CEO of Bank of Michigan. He and other investors organized the bank which opened its doors on Northwestern Highway in Farmington Hills in January of 2005. Prior to joining the bank as CEO, Sarafa served as Vice Chairman of the Board. In July of 2012, Sarafa successfully lead a capital raise that allowed Bank of Michigan to purchase the 51% of Bank of Michigan shares owned by Capitol Bancorp, a Lansing based community bank holding company. Under Sarafa’s leadership, the bank has successfully transitioned the bank’s backroom services through the edition of six full-time employees and newly negotiated professional service contracts. Bank of Michigan is now a fully independent community bank 100% owned by local shareholders. The bank is profitable, well capitalized and poised for growth.

In his capacity as CEO of the bank, Sarafa has overall responsibility for the leadership, risk management, operations, public relations and business development. He and the board have instituted a new 3 year strategic plan that contemplates additional organic growth as well as the focused harvesting of entrepreneurial opportunities.

Sarafa is a lawyer by training and a frequent columnist for the Chaldean News, a local, monthly publication. His career has spanned over 25 years in the public, non-profit and private sectors. He served as President of the Associate Food Dealers of Michigan, worked as a lawyer/lobbyist, served in the mayoral administration of Dennis W. Archer and as a legislative aide in the state capitol.

Sarafa received his J.D. from Wayne State University Law School in 1997 and his masters in Government Administration from the University of Pennsylvania, Fels Center of Government in 1993. He also holds a B.A. from James Madison College at Michigan State.

Sarafa serves on the boards of numerous civic and charitable organizations including Covenant House of Michigan, the Farmington Hills Economic Development Corporation and the St. Fabian Catholic School and Parish Finance Committee. He is also the Chairman of the Board of Youth Vision Solutions (YVS), a not-for-profit charter school management company that oversees three charter schools in the inner city.

Sarafa is married with three children.

Bank Personnel

Bank of Michigan OfficersTitleEmail Address
Jack Abbo SVP Residential Lending jack.abbo@bankofmi.com
Debby AsteriouVP - Controllerdebby.asteriou@bankofmi.com
Barry Boozan SVP SBA & Commercial Lending barry.boozan@bankofmi.com
Cindy Jensen Executive VP Commercial Lending cindy.jensen@bankofmi.com
Elizabeth Zuchelkowski Chief Operating & Financial Officer beth.zuchelkowski@bankofmi.com
Tom Linden Executive VP & Chief Credit Officer tom.linden@bankofmi.com
Lisa Lobb Loan Operations Officer lisa.lobb@bankofmi.com
Carrie Mika SVP Business Development carrie.mika@bankofmi.com
Susan Vettraino BSA, Retail Ops & Risk Officer susan.vettraino@bankofmi.com




Bank of Michigan President Michael G. Sarafa

Letter from the President

Welcome to the new Bank of Michigan website. We hope you find it fresh and easy to use. It is our goal to create positive customer experiences for every transaction from internet banking to a personal visit with us at the bank. Our experienced and dedicated team of bankers is ready to offer creative solutions to meet your banking needs.

At Bank of Michigan, we take great pride in our core values: integrity, loyalty, community, responsiveness and maximizing success. We take these principles very seriously. They drive our mission, purpose and values. Our Board of Directors and staff personally stand behind these commitments.

Thank you for visiting us and do not hesitate to contact me if I can assist you in any way.

Michael G. Sarafa, President

-->